Lionel Messi wins The Best Fifa Men’s Player of 2023

Tom Weber
Tom Weber

  • Updated: 15 Jan 2024 21:26 GMT
  • 3 min read
Messi celebrates scoring against Orlando City in the Leagues Cup
© ProShots

Lionel Messi has won the 2023 iteration of the prestigious Best Fifa Men’s Player award.

The Argentine legend has been crowned as the best player in the world over the calendar year of 2023, making it back-to-back wins after also claiming the 2022 award.

Article continues under the video

Though Messi’s World Cup triumph with Argentine technically did not fall into the qualifying period, it is difficult to imagine that it did not weigh heavily on the minds of voters given that he beat out competition from treble-winning goal machine Erling Haaland.

The 2023 award was Messi’s third overall Best Fifa Men’s Player award and came mere weeks after the 36-year-old won his record eighth Ballon d’Or.

Messi’s exploits with PSG and Inter Miami in 2023 were deemed good enough to beat Haaland and former teammate Kylian Mbappe to the award. The Argentine helped PSG win the 2022/23 Ligue 1 season and also led David Beckham’s Inter Miami to their first-ever piece of silverware by winning Leagues Cup.

Lionel Messi
© ProShots – Lionel Messi

Messi makes Best XI

Messi was, unsurprisingly, also included in FIFPro’s Men’s Best XI, along with the other finalists Haaland and Mbappe. The Best XI was dominated by Man City and Real Madrid players.

GK: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

DEF: Kyle Walker (Man City)

DEF: John Stones (Man City)

DEF: Ruben Dias (Man City)

MID: Bernardo Silva (Man City)

MID: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid)

MID: Kevin de Bruyne (Man City)

FOR: Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)

FOR: Lionel Messi (PSG/Inter Miami)

FOR: Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

FOR: Erling Haaland (Man City)

Intriguingly, Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois was named as the Best XI’s goalkeeper, but it was City’s Ederson who took home the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Pep Guardiola was named the Best Fifa Men’s Coach for leading Man City to a historic treble. The 2023 Best Fifa Football Awards were held in London on January 15, 2024.

Every The Best FIFA Award Winner 2023

Award Winner
The Best Fifa Men’s Player Lionel Messi
The Best Fifa Men’s Goalkeeper Ederson
The Best Fifa Men’s Coach Pep Guardiola
The Best Fifa Women’s Player Aitana Bonmati
The Best Fifa Women’s Goalkeeper Mary Earps
The Best Fifa Women’s Coach Sarina Wiegman
Fifa Puskas Award Guilherme Madruga
Fifa Fan Award Club Atletico Colon de Santa Fe fan
Fifa Fair Play Award Brazil men’s national team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alessia Russo & Ella Toone stun in see-through outfits as Lionesses dominate Team of the Year XI at Fifa The Best awards

Sir Jim Ratcliffe shows up Glazers as INEOS chief takes action after watching Man Utd | Football | Sport